Understanding The Treaty of Waitangi and Te Tiriti o Waitangi

In 1840, in the Bay of Islands, Waitangi, New Zealand, Māori chief and William Hobson representing Queen Victoria signed Te Tiriti o Waitangi/The Treaty of Waitangi.


Image Credit: www.teara.govt.nz

Te Tiriti o Waitangi/ The Treaty of Waitangi outlined a set of agreed terms between Māori and the British Crown and the notion of shared residence within New Zealand. An exchange of promises formed the basis upon which the British Crown acquired the right to govern in New Zealand.

This module provides a more in depth understanding of the Treaty document.

Video: Maori Healthcare and Treaty of Waitangi Module 2

View the transcript

Click the button below to access documents which provide additional resources
directly related to this module.


You have completed module 2.  To proceed to the next module please scroll up the page and access through the menu on the left hand side of the page.